Shame. Shame. Shame. 

Aren’t we all just trying to do the best we can in life and for our families? Why is it so common in our culture to shame others? More specifically mommy or parent shaming. Why do we feel the need to give other parents advice on why what we think is the best? Especially when they don’t even ask for it? I love to advocate for things I believe in and trust me I do just this but I want it to be in a positive light because unless you’re ready to hear it, it will literally go in one ear out the other and fire will be spewing from your mouth about how wrong I am. So instead I have recently changed my tune about sharing what I think is best based on my beliefs. I don’t want to stay silent but there comes a time when you realize that you can share your beliefs but you need to share them with people who are willing to listen. 
Recently with this whole measles EPIDEMIC 😷 *cough * cough, I just can’t stop thinking about all the hate I keep seeing spewed over social media. We all have a right to choose what we want for our children based on what we feel is best for them so why do others try and put you down for what you choose? 
I am in the minority for not vaccinating and truly it’s no one else’s business BUT I allow others to know we don’t vaccinate because if someone wants more information I want to help even just that one person. I want to advocate for babies who don’t have a voice. I want people to know why we don’t vaccinate, that our daughter had horrible reactions, thankfully all things she could recover from but she was extremely uncomfortable for the first 6 months of her life and vaccines are the only explanation. Frankly its insulting and ignorant when people think parents who don’t vaccinate are being neglectful when we’re the ones actually researching what these vaccines are for, how they work, why we need or don’t need them, side effects (reading the insert – and no this is not what the doctor gives you). We do research from credible sources not just mommy blogs and google and we don’t follow our doctors blindly. 
But this isn’t the only thing. Moms are shamed for so so so many things and why? Shamed for the food they feed their children, things they let them play with, how they let their children dress etc.  Why does everyone need to do everything the same? Why would we want everyone to be the same? Diversity is a wonderful thing and we should embrace it. We should show our children we have rights to choose what we want. We didn’t have so many people fight and advocate before us for human rights only for others to want to take them away. 

This week multiple people have shared a video about how non vaxxers need to vaccinate because measles is making a come back with this horrible outbreak in MN. First of all I want to address this. Yes the majority of the people who have come down with measles have been not vaccinated but do you know why? It’s mainly in the Somali community – they have naturally low levels of vitamin A – this is the vitamin (along with C) that your body needs to fight off measles. They have low vaccination rates in the Somali communities because they came to a country where autism is an epidemic, they call it the American disease because it’s unheard of where they’re from. So instead of following doctors blindly they search for their own answers and make their own educated decision. These individuals were not targeted they looked for this information on their own. Now back to others sharing this one video on Facebook. Guess what, I’ve scrolled right on by. Not because I don’t care but because I don’t want to waste my breath on someone who has their mind made up. It’s their own decision to vaccinate but I am so glad I have the ability to decide NO to vaccines. It’s great if someone wants to talk facts and share information but the majority of these people don’t want to hear what I have to say so, you got it, I scroll right on by! It’s so easy to do and I wish others would do it too. 
Thank you if you’ve stayed to read all of this and are open to what I advocate for.  We all want what’s best for our babies. We are all doing what we think is best so why must we shame others who have different opinions than we do? If you want to vaccinate good for you but it’s not for me and never will be. Anything you tell me isn’t going to change my mind. Just like anything I say to some strong vaxxers isn’t going to change their mind. So let’s all quit the shaming and just be friends. You can vax or not vax, you can eat food filled with pesticides or eat organic, you can feed your baby formula or nurse until your child is 5, I don’t care what you do because you’re doing what is the best for you and your family just as I am. Let’s all quit the shaming and just be friends. 

Leave a Reply

