Second time mamas, it gets easier. 

I’m writing this at 7:30AM as I sip my hot coffee (yes you read that right, hot!) while both my girls are still sleeping (again, yes you read that right! They’re both sleeping!). I’m writing this to you second time mamas who need to hear this. It gets easier. It truly does. Here we are in the Wendt household 1 month since Mila was born and it’s starting to feel normal and it’s starting to get easier. We’re taking it day by day and each day gets a little easier. 
At first it was weirdly easy, then we found out Mila wasn’t eating enough which is why she was so calm – yep she was probably too tired to even cry. UGH how awful I felt about that. Then once we found out and had to start bottle feeding her she would eat too much and projectile vomit everywhere…. it was awful. Now one month under our belts and we finally have a good somewhat of might be a routine down, she’s drinking 3 ounces every 2-3 hours, my chunky monkey 10 pounder at birth is finally past her birth weight. Music to a mamas ears. 
So again I want to repeat, it gets easier. Everyday  you will achieve small milestones and realize that was the first time you did that with ease, without being scared out of your mind. 
I remember the first day Devin had to go to work and I had to be home alone with the girls. I was terrified. Like the second he left they were going to turn on me and I was outnumbered after all so what could I do. Ha! We did it though, it was rough but we figured it out. Then everyday got a little more routine, Ellie started waking up asking for her sister – Mila was now a part of Ellie’s routine. This made life easier. 
And then Mila started smiling this week. The first time she smiled at Ellie, oh my goodness and Ellie lost it. She couldn’t believe her baby was smiling at her. She gave her a million kisses and hugs and ugh I cried it was so unbelievably cute. This was right around when I had mastitis and felt like I was dying, it’s like god knew I needed something, anything to remind me to keep pushing because it gets easier. 

Oh, and leaving the house? Yeah that was unthinkable without Devin. Like no way could I do anything with two of them and one of me! Finally last week I grabbed my oils and remembered I can handle this. God wouldn’t give me this responsibility if I couldn’t handle it. So the girls and I ventured out grocery shopping – by ourselves. We only went to Sams Club because they have those huge carts and I could fit both the girls in it and a diaper bag and still have room for food. That trip went really smoothe. I had to feed Mila while we were out but we did it. I now have more courage and plan on going again, I mean we as moms are really super women and can handle anything, right? Yeah, sometimes we just need to be reminded of it. 

While our lives are no where near easy nor do we have a definite routine yet, it’s getting easier, day by day it is. I am confident that in another month it will be even better, hopefully we have a real routine by then. So second time mama, whose life is turned completely upside down right now, it gets easier. Just hold on. 
😘 xo, you got this! 

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

