The dirty truth. 

Being a mother and a wife is not for the faint of heart. It’s a thankless job. One where you often forget to take care of yourself because you’re so busy taking care of everyone else. Being a mother means you never get 2 seconds alone, you can’t even use the bathroom without someone needing you. You don’t get a hot meal because you’re too busy helping feed someone else. You never get to shower uninterrupted. And sleep? Sleep is virtually non existent. 
In my personal experience, it’s easier to go to work outside the home everyday than it is to be an on duty mom and wife 24/7. When I work my day job I work 12 hour shifts and you know what? I’m not exhausted at the end of the day, but when I’m at home… it’s basically a 12 hour shift in a sense that Ellie wakes up around 7:30/8AM and goes to bed around 8PM… but at the end of that shift I am so exhausted I feel like I could sleep for days. 

When Ellie first started saying words, she learned daddy first and I thought I’d be off the hook when she needed anything. I thought she’d call for daddy in the middle of the night or ask him for water or a snack 20 times a day. Ha! Fat chance. That lasted a few weeks. She quickly learned mama… and now it’s me 24/7. But what makes it so worth it? When Ellie says “thank you mama.” Or when she calls for me in the middle of the night and I get to snuggle up with her and take all her fears away. Yeah, my heart literally melts. How amazing is it to be someone’s number one person? 

The thing about being a mom and a wife is it is the most exhausting, trying and difficult jobs I’ve ever had… but it’s also the most loving, and rewarding. Truly knowing I grew these babies inside me, grew them with the milk my body made special for them and taught them how to be little tiny humans. Having someone look up to you like you’re the most amazing human on the planet knowing and not caring about any of your flaws.  Honestly no job will ever compare to that. 




Here are some key things to remember to get you through motherhood:
1. Tomorrow is always a new day. If today you sucked at being a mom because you lost your patience or you looked at your phone too much that’s ok. Try again tomorrow. 

2. Always think/say positive things. About yourself and everything around you. Your child hears what you say and that will become their voice in their mind. Be positive so they can be positive. A happy positive toddler is so much more fun. 

3. They’re only young once. Let them be messy, let them make mistakes and let them explore.  You can be there to kiss their owies and help them learn. 

In the middle of the night when I’m at my wits end and all I want to do is for my baby to sleep so I can sleep I remind myself this won’t last long. Motherhood is messy. Motherhood is exhausting. Motherhood is amazing. Motherhood is everything I could have ever dreamed of and more. 

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

